BlueSCSI SD Transfer Utility - Alpha Testers Wanted!

rjkucia

Tinkerer
Dec 21, 2021
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Continuing the sidebar, the history of StuffIt as a format that kept changing silently under the hood with no visibility, no changes in file extension, and no backward compatibility was frustrating in the ‘90s and remains very frustrating for vintage hobbyists.

In the ‘90s, the answer was to always use StuffIt 1.5.1 or (better) Compact Pro. Today, vintage files are tiny and in modern times there is generally no need to compress them. The MacBinary format has supported streaming 2-fork Mac files including type and creator info since the dawn of time. I would love to start a movement where all future Garden uploads are just .bin flies with no compression (and please, please no .sit.hqx)!
I'm pretty new to vintage Macs, and the prevalence of Stuffit has definitely been frustrating to me, haha. My understanding is that you can fix them and see what version they're for in ResEdit, is that correct?

eric

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 2, 2021
MN
scsi.blue
My understanding is that you can fix them and see what version they're for in ResEdit, is that correct?
Depends on what you mean by fix - you can go into resedit and change the type/creator (and maybe dump the hex to see if the header is the 5.5 or 3.5 - but if you dont have the version needed it wont decompress. And you're only fixing the ability to double click on it and launch Stuffit, you can mostly always drag it on top of expander even if the type/creator is lost.

Patrick

Tinkerer
Oct 26, 2021
StuffIt as a format that kept changing silently under the hood with no visibility, no changes in file extension, and no backward compatibility was frustrating in the ‘90s and remains very frustrating for vintage hobbyists.