Apple II Plus

PotatoFi

Active Tinkerer
Oct 18, 2021
Through the co-worker of a family member, I recently learned about an Apple II Plus that was destined for the trash. I was told that if I paid shipping costs, it was mine! I gave them my address, they gave me their PayPal, and the deal was done!

They went to a pack and ship place (like the UPS Store). Unfortunately, the bill was $200, but I gotta admit that they did a great job. I did laugh at how meticulously they wrapped and padded the floppy drive ribbon cables and power cable!

IMG_2391.jpg

There were all kinds of goodies in the box! The Apple II Plus itself, an Apple floppy drive, a non-Apple drive, a Grappler+ card, and a stack of floppies. Basically, a full Apple II setup!

64273981691__4963E662-02E1-4479-AFE3-2144729EBAAF.jpg

The machine needs a light cleaning, but looks pretty good!

IMG_2394.jpg

This little guy was attached with double-sided tape. I'm completely new to the Apple II ecosystem (I grew up exclusively on PC's), so I'm not familiar with interfaces like this.

IMG_2397.jpg

There's also some interesting homemade stuff inside! I have no idea what is going on here.

IMG_2398.jpg

As neat as the Paddle-Adapple is, I don't have paddles for this machine, and I prefer things to be clean and stock, so I decided to remove it. The double-sided tape was very stubborn, but Goo Gone made great progress on it.

IMG_2400.jpg

And there's the machine all cleaned up! I think this is a 10/10 example of an Apple II Plus - there isn't a scratch on this thing.

IMG_2401.jpg

I'd like to power it on pretty soon, and see if everything works. Is there anything I need to know before doing so? Should I replace the Rifa caps? If someone has a preferred part on Digikey or Mouser, I'd appreciate being pointed to it. Is there any other preventative maintenance I should do?

ScutBoy

Administrator
Staff member
Founder
Sep 2, 2021
Northfield, MN USA