Hi from Minnesota

I discovered this forum after watching a video by @Mu0n on YouTube where he shows how he added HDMI output to some early compact Macs. I noticed that some people on YouTube were posting video captures from early Macs and wondered how it was done. I was interested because I actually have a use for that.

Anyway, it led me here.

I've been a font developer for decades and did my earliest digital fonts on Macs in the late eighties. Before that I was a graphic designer and art director, where I exclusively used Macs. And I always had one myself.

Consequently, I've owned a lot of Macs over the years, going back to the very first one. Many of them wound up getting passed on or sold to other people. I always kept a few, and even acquired a bunch of SEs and similar around 2000 that were left for trash. (I'm ashamed to admit that I brought most of them to an electronics recycler a few years later. I didn't know what else to do with them at the time.) I got rid of most of my remaining old Macs in 2015 when we were renovating our house, this time donating them to Free Geek in Minneapolis. The only one I kept was a G4 Cube, which I bought new in 2000, just because it was such a rare and unique Mac.

A few years ago, after successfully getting the Cube up and running again, I started acquiring old Macs again, with a bit more purpose. I'd been using Mac emulators more and more to access old documents (going back to 1984) and for running old apps. I decided it would be even better on the real hardware. I've now got a machine for each major version of Mac OS:

- Macintosh Plus (System 6)
- PowerBook 180 (System 7)
- PowerBook G3 Lombard (MacOS 8)
- Macintosh G4 Cube (MacOS 9 and Mac OS X Tiger)
- 2009 17" PowerBook (Mac OS X Snow Leopard)