IIci Soft Power Issues...

Colleton

New Tinkerer
Apr 20, 2022
I was an electronics technician in the Air Force back in the day, but it had been a long time since I'd done any electronics repair work when I became interested in retro computers a few years ago and began buying them to enjoy. I started with Ataris because that's what I had back in the 80's, and then switched over to 68K Macs simply because they are more complicated and more fun to tinker with. I had never owned a Mac until I bought that 1st 68K machine (it was an SE/30). I've watched a lot of videos by Bruce Rayne, Mac84, HoM, Adrian Black and others, so thanks for the help from all those whose videos I've watched.

I have 4 IIci computers (no, I don't have a problem), 2 of which work perfectly and 2 have soft power issues. Of the 2 that have issues I've recently repaired one of them so really I have 3 that work perfectly now. The remaining machine is still being recalcitrant.

#1: This machine came to me in pretty poor condition. Two of the SIMM slots on the logic board were broken, and the surface mount electrolytic caps had leaked badly. I recapped the board and replaced the broken SIMM slots (fun times with my Hakko de-soldering gun). After all that it would chime and boot, but the computer was powering on as soon as it was plugged in. I replaced all of the parts in the power-on circuitry, but the problem ended up being a broken trace right at the pad of pin 14 on UE13. This is the Vcc for the chip, so UE13 was not being energized normally. Used a bit of wire to repair the break and voila, the computer works properly. Incidentally, while troubleshooting this I noticed that the Bomarc schematics show the +5vdc going to Q4 (as well as pin 14 of UE13, although it isn't shown) as coming from pins 2, 3 and 4 of the PSU when it is actually coming from pin 10, which I think is the low current "always on" +5vdc line.