Member Bio - Beeblebrox

Hurry

Tinkerer
Oct 28, 2021
Hi I'm Don. I went and posted my first "Arrgh help!" thread today and realized that I never bothered to introduce myself!

I live in the US, New Jersey to be specific. The southern part - think Philadelphia, not New York (no one except the tax man knows that we're down here, it's great). I'm an IT guy by trade, like I'm sure many of you are (more on the data center/infrastructure side, I'm not a programmer though I do boss them around).

My first computer was an Atari 800XL that I saved up for (okay, I was REALLY saving up for a C64 but got impatient), followed by a C128 that was given to me after all my friends stopped playing with computers and started playing with consoles. Once I started in IT in the mid-90s, Apple computers were things to scoff at and replace with computers for people who want to get paid for their work (which is ironic, because I did 3 and a half years in college to become a Graphic Designer before I dropped out and got into IT).

I bought my first Mac in 2002, a PowerBook, and fell in love. Aside from a brief spell in the late 2010s when Apple stopped being interesting, we've been Apple zombies at home (while Microsoft pays my bills).