NeXT N4006 Trinitron MegaPixel Display Repair

TristinAEvans

New Tinkerer
Feb 26, 2023
Hello All!

I'm a newbie recommended to swing by here by Steve from Mac84 on YouTube. I've got a Trinitron CRT here that was rebadged by NeXT Computer, Inc. It's essentially a Sony GDM-1632 with a 13W3 connector instead of BNC connectors. I've done a recap on the power supply board, swapped out some of the inductors since they fell off the board, & switched the IC101 and IC102 chips since their leads were tarnished to heck and back. The monitor behaves as follows: plug it in, flip the front switch and you'll hear it click on with a green light & two seconds later its off. Attempts to flip it on again will do nothing unless you wait about 30 seconds to a minute; after which it just does the same cycle again. Before I did a recap, it would stay on for about 10-15 seconds then shut off.

In both instances there was no sign of high voltage & I'm praying it's not flyback related as no replacement parts exist unless there's alternatives people know of.

I need someone who knows CRTs that's willing to repair this thing. I do not want to see it left in a coma. I've seen this exact monitor used in Radius, NCD, SUN, & HP Workstations, and all attempts to find a working twin have failed.

Any help would be much appreciated! This thing is located in Southern California just as an FYI.

Thank you!
285632437_7486036531468933_7847384589280109143_n.jpg

TristinAEvans

New Tinkerer
Feb 26, 2023
I would recommend you contact Rob Blessin at The Black Hole.
He is the worlds expert on NeXT black hardware:
I've talked to Rob about his. He cannot help. I need someone who specializes in CRT repairs.

TristinAEvans

New Tinkerer
Feb 26, 2023
@Kai Robinson - is this something Tech Knight can help with?