Ultrasonic cleaner expectations

Sideburn

Tinkerer
Jun 16, 2023
California
youtube.com
I just got a 30L ultrasonic cleaner and so far I’m not too impressed. Maybe my expectations were too high but aside from it not cleaning any corrosion of my boards it’s not even cleaning the flux or any gunk off. I can tell no difference.

temp at 45c and I run it for 30 mins.

it did annihilate a sheet of tinfoil though…

Fizzbinn

Tinkerer
Nov 29, 2021
Charlottesville, VA
I'm by no means an expert but I've always heard folks saying to use a cleaning solution designed for electronics and distilled water.

This is the stuff I use currently (although looks like its only available in the huge size right now via Amazon) with my VEVOR 30L Ultrasonic Cleaner:
Elmasonic 800 0100 Elma TEC Clean A1 Ultrasonic Cleaner Solution Concentrate for Electronics and Optics

I see a lot of folks like this one:
Branson EC Electronics Cleaner Solution For Ultrasonic Cleaners (1 Gallon)

I guess it might be like doing your laundry without detergent if you just use water.

Sideburn

Tinkerer
Jun 16, 2023
California
youtube.com
That’s the same one I have the 30l vevor. I guess you should clean the flux and board with isopropyl and a brush prior to untrasonic
Cleaning. I was under the impression it would clean the flux off the board and at least some of the corrosion and rust. I really can’t tell if it is doing anything. I’ll try some cleaning solution next.

Fizzbinn

Tinkerer
Nov 29, 2021
Charlottesville, VA
That’s the same one I have the 30l vevor. I guess you should clean the flux and board with isopropyl and a brush prior to untrasonic
Cleaning. I was under the impression it would clean the flux off the board and at least some of the corrosion and rust. I really can’t tell if it is doing anything. I’ll try some cleaning solution next.