Simasimac Help Please!

epalama1

New Tinkerer
Oct 30, 2021
Background:
Skill Level: Hobbyist - I have restored a number of vintage Macs before, but beyond reading a schematic to check for continuity between parts and basic/sub-par soldering skills, I have no knowledge.

Hello everyone! I bought this SE/30 off of eBay a few weeks ago and was very happy to see that it wasn't battery bombed. However, it did still have the typical simasimac symptoms (no chime, pattern on screen)..

IMG_3150.jpg

I got to work with recapping the board, which went semi-smoothly minus one pad and three traces, all of which I repaired. After the recap, I got the normal SE/30 chime, but the same pattern on the screen.

I kept going and replaced UE8; however, after I did, the chime stopped and the screen went blank..

Keep in mind, I originally put in a few wires between this chip and its connection points as I was having a hard time soldering to those small pins. However, one of these was incorrectly placed. I corrected it and confirmed continuity between UE8 and all of its connections. I also reflowed UD8 and UF8 and confirmed all pins were connecting where they were supposed to.

I had removed the neck board from the CRT, but did it very carefully and checked the tube for any cracks. Didn't see any...

Here are some pictures of the board:

IMG_3168.jpg

IMG_3170.jpg

IMG_3171.jpg

IMG_3172.jpg

Thanks for reading, everyone!

Attachments

• IMG_3169.jpg
    IMG_3169.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 31

epalama1

New Tinkerer
Oct 30, 2021
Here's a video of how it's acting now...

Nixontheknight

Tinkerer
Nov 3, 2021
SE/30's are picky about their RAM, but also make sure there are good connections between the CPU, ROM, and RAM

epalama1

New Tinkerer
Oct 30, 2021
Thanks for the reply! Yeah i've heard that about the RAM, but I did get a normal chime before I replaced UE8 (even tried putting the original back and nothing). I'll definitely be checking all of those connections next...

epalama1