Toshiba Libretto 50CT Charging Behavior

PotatoFi

Active Tinkerer
Oct 18, 2021
I've noticed that my Libretto 50CT does not charge while powered on. It only seems to charge the battery when the laptop is off or hiberating. Is that expected behavior?

Cyclone740

Tinkerer
Oct 29, 2023
I've noticed that my Libretto 50CT does not charge while powered on. It only seems to charge the battery when the laptop is off or hiberating. Is that expected behavior?
Hi I am new to this side of the forums, and I saw your post and thought I would pitch in and try to answer your question.

From my experience, I don't exactly think that is normal behaviour, unless you have it set to behave like that in software. I will check and post an update in a few minutes. I have some of my own Toshiba Libretto 50ct laptops.

P.S I must admit that the plastic can be a real pain to work with once they sustain damage, and the HDDs are a nightmare to replace. If you have replaced your HDD with a form of solid state storage, could you let me know both how you did it, and what you used? Thanks

PotatoFi

Active Tinkerer
Oct 18, 2021
If you have replaced your HDD with a form of solid state storage, could you let me know both how you did it, and what you used? Thanks

I have pulled the original hard drive, and put it in storage, and I've replaced it with an inexpensive IDE to SD adapter, and then a caddy that I designed and 3D printed for myself. The physical install was extremely easy, as there's just one screw and plastic cover. Getting the card formatted right for Windows 95 was a little bit tricky (I don't remember what I did), but then I just copied the installation CD-ROM over to C:\Win95\, and installed from there.

Cyclone740

Tinkerer
Oct 29, 2023
Hi so regarding the battery not charging while the device is in use, mine also doesn't appear to charge when in use either, so it seems as though it is normal.