Macintosh LC 575 “Mystic” logic board recap, install into Color Classic II chassis

Mr. Fahrenheit

Tinkerer
Founder
Sep 2, 2021
I purchased a Macintosh Color Classic II earlier this year and thought the 68030 33mhz would be enough for me. While it was great, I really wanted to try a 575 board in it (to make it a “Mystic”).

The board I bought looked clean and was promised to be working yet when I received it, I would get system bombs on boot. So I set it aside until today, when I was looking for something to do.

I recapped it. Letting it dry now. We’ll see if it works after.

I don’t plan to do the 640x480 alteration to the Color Classic chassis/analog board. I am first trying out the enabler hack to see if it works. If that doesn’t make it work I will be doing the resistor swap on the board to change the resolution.

Any input welcome as I’m new to the Mystic side of tinkering.

B66A88A4-BF22-41B2-B635-EA789CD936B3.jpeg
8D34AE8B-CDB0-48C6-909E-BF0CD997F9B1.jpeg
F9EC8B99-C4C5-401A-989D-B19092FC5247.jpeg

KnobsNSwitches

Tinkerer
Nov 2, 2021
I run my mystic CC at the original resolution. The ResEdit mod is easy enough to do and it just seems 'right' for the screen to me.
IIRC the instructions are fairly straightforward, but I know I have the gusd file and instructions squirreled away somewhere.

Mr. Fahrenheit

Tinkerer
Founder
Sep 2, 2021
I run my mystic CC at the original resolution. The ResEdit mod is easy enough to do and it just seems 'right' for the screen to me.
IIRC the instructions are fairly straightforward, but I know I have the gusd file and instructions squirreled away somewhere.

I thought I had a hacked system folder for this but I’m getting a bomb on boot.

Could the hack not have applied or do you think this is a hardware problem?
9658A2E9-2A77-49D7-8F01-AF6DF297CBDB.jpeg

Drake

TinkerDifferent Board Vice-President 2023
Staff member
Sep 23, 2021