Motobike restoration project in the near future (hopefully) :)

Cyclone740

Tinkerer
Oct 29, 2023
Ok it has been a while since I posted on these forums, I still am working on the powerbook 170, (and other projects). But this is not why I have not come on here today. No. Why I have come on here is to post about a project that I intend to pick up in the coming months and was wondering is anyone might be able to share some advice regarding it.

This is a 1979 Yamaha GT80 motorbike, I came across it one day while looking around at some of the stuff around the side of the house of someone in my neighbourhood. He has a lot of things strewn out all over the place and a lot of clutter and neglected items. I have already grabbed some things from him already, but I sure this hidden beauty.

Now I fully understand that not every one is going to agree with me but I really want to restore it to the best of my abilities as a complete novice. I have a neighbour who is really into motorbikes and is really friendly and down to earth, who is also more than happy to mentor me and guide me through the process of restoring this puppy.

I still can't believe that I was able to find this hidden under a bunch of scrap metal and workshop lights, and other things, it wasn't even easy to see properly until I got up really close to it. I have slowly removed stuff from it and made it so that it is easier to remove the bike from it all when I finally come to removing it. 😅

I will be clear that it has been exposed to the elements for a while, but I am not writing it off as a lost cause until I take a much closer look at it. I have always wanted a motorbike, although not really one of the bigger ones, instead I have always been drawn towards the older ones. Sadly though, my mum wasn't never happy with me buying a motorbike, so I decided that if I was going to get myself a bike, I would have to work for it and build it or restore it. And this is my opportunity.